Community of Redwick

Community Meeting,

Thursday, 23rd November 2023, at 7:00pm

Venue: - Village Hall, Redwick

1. In Attendance

Local Government electors for the Community of Redwick as outlined in the attached list. A total of 67 were present. The number required for a quorum was 51, as required by Section 27C of the Local Government Act, 1972.

2. Also, in attendance

Clerk of the Community Council, Mrs. B. Cawley, Leanne Rowlands & Katharine Majer, Democratic and Electoral Services, Newport City Council,

3. Apologies for Absence

It was resolved to receive apologies for absence from the following: -Tracey Kinsey, Daniel Maggs, Jessica Cox, Emily Evans, Amelia Hart, William Hart, Rowland Price, Frazer Price, Glynis Woodward & Ian Trigg.

4. Election of Chair

It was resolved to appoint Elwyn Jarrett to Chair the proceedings and receive the minutes.

5. To Consider Community Business

It was resolved to receive the following resolution, proposed by *Elwyn Jarrett of Four Winds, South Row, Redwick* (132) and seconded by Rhys *Waters of Great House Farm, South Row, Redwick* (136) : -

i) That the Principal Council, Newport City Council, be requested to convene a Community Governance Poll at the earliest opportunity

and to request they put the following question to local government electors of the Redwick Community, at the above poll: - 'Do you agree that Redwick Community Council be dissolved?'

The above resolution was accepted by 67 votes with Nil voting against, the resolution was therefore agreed.

ii) The local government electors for the Community of Redwick hereby request that an Order be made under Section 27D of the Local Government Act, 1972, the effect of which would be to dissolve the Redwick Community Council.

The above resolution was accepted by 67 votes with Nil voting against, the resolution was therefore agreed.

6. Minutes of the Meeting

The Chair notified those present at the meeting of the proposed minutes and it was agreed that the Chair sign the minutes as a true record and forward them to the proper officer of the Principal Council.

7. Conclusion of the Meeting

The meeting concluded at 7.20pm.

Signed Signed

Elwyn Jarrett Kathryn James
Chair of the Meeting Chair of the Community Council